Tags

,

Ryan and I

Sorry for the neglect the past week and a half! The week before last was the long anticipated spring break.  I love my first graders, but everyone needs a break to relax and reboot our head brains (yes, that’s a technical term).  So, as a birthday present, my man gave me a spring break trip! We spent the first half of the week in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, with my best friend and her husband.  We hiked, hot tubed, and did a few free test-tastings of moonshine, whisky, and wine (which led to a pretty perfect game of mini golf).

Cabin

Maggie and I

photo 5

We ended the week by visiting downtown Chicago where we saw Amy Schumer (hilarious) the first night and took a trip to the Shedd Aquarium the second day.  We had lunch and took a stroll to Navy Pier to visit Ryan’s most favorite spot, which is a large ship anchor at the very edge of the pier.  Well, this is also where he got down on one knee and proposed!  This is also when one of his good buddies comes running out with a camera to capture the whole thing. After the whirlwind of the most exciting moment of my life, he takes me to a special celebratory dinner.  Little did I know, he requested our parents to be waiting at the table to join us.  After the hugs, sobs, and showing off my new bling, we had an amazing dinner at The Boarding House.  And, now, back to the grind.  Back to my first graders, and the beginning of wedding planning!

Sparkle!

