Tags

,

Chocolate Chip CookiesI am the first to admit that I have an extremely large sweet tooth.  I don’t think there has been a day that I haven’t had something to indulge my white, enamel-covered sugar craver.  On this particular day, I had had a crazy day with my firsties and couldn’t find anything in my pantry that would curb my craving.  I decided to look on my Pinterest board and came across this beauty of a recipe- it only made 2 large cookies! It was perfect.  I didn’t feel guilty because I didn’t make a whole batch of 24 cookies (although I could have totally eaten them within a few days).  So, I got right to work and it was a quick and easy recipe and the cookies came out chewy in the middle and crispy around the edges.. just how I like them!  This recipe made for two very large cookies and could easily be split into 4 to make less monstrous servings.  Nonetheless, I will be recreating this simple dessert when I need my fix in the future.  Enjoy!

Single Serving Chocolate Chip Cookies

(original source)

What you’ll need:

  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 2 firmly packed tablespoons of dark brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of granulated sugar
  • Pinch of kosher salt
  • ¼ teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  • 1 egg yolk – discard or set aside egg white for a different use
  • ¼ teaspoon of baking soda
  • ¼ cup of all-purpose flour
  • 3 heaping tablespoons of semisweet chocolate chips

What to do:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a microwave safe bowl, heat butter just until it starts to melt and is softened. Blend softened butter, sugars, salt, and vanilla together by hand.
  • Add egg yolk and stir again.
  • Add baking soda and flour and stir until combined.
  • Then stir in chocolate chips.
  • Form cookie dough into two balls and place on baking sheet.
  • The cookies will spread during baking, so make sure they are several inches apart.
  • Bake for about 8 minutes, or until edges are golden brown. 

Enjoy!

