Tags

, , , ,

French Dip SandwichAlthough I didn’t have work today, I still had a lot of prepping for next week.  I also knew I had no excuse to not make dinner so I found this easy crockpot recipe (that I already had all the ingredients for apart from the rolls.. score) and it was a hit!  It mentioned to use a fat strainer for the gravy but I didn’t have one.  It was still good but it would have been nicer for it to be a little less oily.  Looks like I have an excuse to get another kitchen gadget 🙂  On another note, I think this will make for good leftovers and perhaps even freeze nicely if need be.  Yum!

French Dip Sandwiches

(original source)

What you’ll need:

  • 1 3-4 pound boneless roast beef (chuck or round roast)
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • ½ cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped (I used my beloved garlic press)
  • Sub sandwich rolls for serving

What to do:

  • Place roast beef into the insert of your slow cooker. In a 2-cup measuring cup, mix together all remaining ingredients. Pour over roast beef and set the timer for your slow cooker for 4 hours on high (or 6-8 hours on low)
  • Once roast beef has cooked, remove from slow cooker with tongs into a serving dish. Break apart lightly with two forks and then ladle about ¼ – ½ cup of gravy over roast beef.
  • Pile beef into a roll, pour gravy into a single-serve bowl.  To eat, dip sandwich in gravy and enjoy!
