Tags

, , ,

Spicy Thai Noodles

First off, let me tell you that I made a rookie mistake tonight when making this dish.  When planning for it, I looked at the ingredients to see what I needed to pick up at the store and didn’t read the directions until I started cooking.  I noticed that the directions said to refrigerate overnight or until cold.  Well, I definitely didn’t have time to wait so I decided to try it warm.. I hope I’m not offending anyone with this! I have enough for leftovers so I’ll try it cold for lunch tomorrow 🙂

Spicy Thai Noodles (original recipe)

What you’ll need:

  • 1 box linguine or angel hair pasta (I used linguine)
  • 1-2 tbsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup sesame oil
  • 6 tbsp. honey
  • 6 tbsp. soy sauce
  • Green onion, cilantro, peanuts, and sesame seeds to top

What to do:

  • Boil noodles, drain.
  • Chop green onions, cilantro, and peanuts
  • Over medium heat, heat oils and red pepper flakes in a small pan (I used a tad less than 1 tbsp. because I’m a wimp when it comes to too much spice)
  • Strain pepper, reserve oils
  • Whisk in honey and soy sauce to the pan with the oils
  • Toss mixture with noodles.
  • Refrigerate overnight or until cold (again, I decided to try it warm…oops)
  • When serving, top with green onion, cilantro, peanuts and sesame seeds. Serve cold.

Spicy Thai Noodles2

Let me know what you think!

